There is the luxury of the chateau, the irresistible appeal of Biarritz, the energy of the ocean and the Basque Country art of living. To further ensure your enjoyment, we have prepared some ideas for outings.

It was from here that surfing won over the Europeans

Biarritz has always laid claim to the winds, the stars and the sea. The perfect alchemy to produce waves to surf. In 1957, the filmmaker Peter Viertel came to Biarritz as he was shooting a film in the region. He brought two boards from California, eager to tease these waves. The sport of the Hawaiian kings, never before seen in the Old World, officially arrived in Europe. It was an immediate success.

Long perceived as a hostile environment, the ocean has become a fabulous playground full of exciting challenges. Generations of surfers, famous or anonymous, have come to Biarritz to carve their ephemeral footprint on the powerful rollers off Belza or the Grande Plage.

Today, if you're hesitating between two spots, it's more than likely that you'll end up surfing the waves in Biarritz. The Surfrider Foundation has its headquarters here and Ilbarritz is home to Surf City. As for the Côte des Basques, where it all began, every year, it is ranked as one of the three most beautiful beaches in the world.

Duration of experience: 2 hours

A golfer's paradise since 1888

Inaugurated in March 1888, the British Golf Club in Biarritz was one of the first courses on the continent. Right from the start, illustrious people such as King Edward VII, the Prince of Wales, the King and Queen of Spain, Alphonse XIII, and the Grand Duke Alexander Michailovitch all played on these princely links. Fledgling Biarritz players picked up the game and shone, like Arnaud Massy who won the British Open in 1907.

France's first public golf course, the Phare (lighthouse) opened in Biarritz in 1912. It was modernised and redesigned in 1920 by the architect H.S. Colt who also designed Chantaco golf course, which was much beloved by the Lacoste family.

From the Basque Country to Les Landes, the region now boasts some of the finest golf courses in the world, including the impressive Seignosse course.

You can also play golf in Arcangues, Anglet and Ilbarritz, just a stone's throw from the Phare golf course.

Find out more:

Golf clubs in the Basque Country 

History of golf in the Basque Country 

In the footsteps of Eugénie de Montijo

Biarritz was still a modest fishermen's refuge, surrounded by cliffs and wild dunes, when Eugénie de Montijo, Countess of Teba, fell under its spell in 1834. When she became Empress of the French, she introduced her husband Napoleon III to the town. In 1854/55, he had a palace built for her. The crowned heads and wealthy families of Europe flocked to the first chic seaside resort in history.

Biarritz History Museum provides the opportunity of discovering different aspects of Eugénie's s character, including her favourite places, from the Côte des Basques beach, where she bathed in the ocean, to the Imperial Chapel. Villa Eugénie, lavishly rebuilt after a devastating fire in 1903, and now known as the Hôtel du Palais is where this wonderful pilgrimage ends.

Duration of experience: 2 hours

For more information,
click on the following links:

- Pays Basque Tourisme - GEO voyages

The Way of St. James to Santiago de Compostela

For the past two decades, the oldest pilgrimage in the Christian world has been enjoying renewed success. Walking along the Ways of St. James to Santiago de Compostela brings us back to nature, to spirituality and to ourselves, to the true dimension of time, space and the world.

In the mountains, it's possible to experience the pilgrim's endeavours along the pilgrimage route from Ostabat-Asme to Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port: a 5-hour hike over 23 kilometres that arrives through the UNESCO-listed Saint-Jacques city gate. The classic 7-hour stage of the pilgrimage from Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port to Roncesvalles travels along a more physically demanding 27 kilometres.

Duration of experience: half a day or a day depending on the choice of route

For more information,
click on the following links:

- in the Basque Country
- Pays Basque Tourisme

Beaches of the Basque Country

There is a lot of talk about protecting the environment, but it is even better to put the words into action. The Musée de la Mer and the Cité de l'Océan in Biarritz offer immersive experiences to learn more about the issues involved in protecting the oceans. These workshops are particularly suitable for children.

Launched in the 1930s, this unique place in the world houses museum collections and aquariums that enable the Gulf Stream ecosystem, a warm current that flows off the Basque Country, to be studied. Weakened by climatic upheavals, the Gulf Stream contributes to the regulation and mildness of the local climate.

Duration of experience: 2 hours

For more information,
click on the following links:

- Biarritz Tourism - City of the Ocean

The Cristóbal Balenciaga Museum

Just a stone's throw from Biarritz, the Spanish Basque Country has some lovely surprises waiting to be discovered.Getaria is home to the sublime Cristóbal Balenciaga Museum. Balenciaga, who died in 1972, was one of the most inspiring fashion designers of the 20th century, the golden age of haute couture.

Located in his hometown, this museum brings together and preserves the maestro's collections, making them more accessible and open to the public, complemented by temporary exhibitions of his peers such as Azzedine Alaïa, the French-Tunisian designer who died in 2017.

Duration of experience: half a day

For more information,
click on the following links:

- Cristobal Balenciaga Museum

- Biography
of Cristobal Balenciaga

Visit Espelette with the chef on market day!

Since the 17th century, every Wednesday morning, the Basque Country world and his wife meets at Espelette market. It is an opportunity to shop with the chef of La Folie Boulart and find an array of delicious produce among the stalls selling Espelette pimento pepper, pâtés, terrines, foie gras, charcuterie, sheep and goat milk cheese, fruit and vegetables grown by local market gardeners.

Veal axoa (pronounced 'achoa') is a local speciality and can be enjoyed on the terrace of nearby restaurants, accompanied by a good Irouléguy wine. There ia also a farmers' market held every Saturday morning in July and August also at the Place du Jeu de Paume.

Duration of experience: 3 hours

For more information,
click on the following links:

- Espelette Basque Country
- The markets of the Basque Country

Saint-Jean-de-Luz, a royal city

Saint-Jean-de-Luz, the privateers' town, was stamped with the royal seal on 9 June 1660 when King Louis XIV married the Spanish Infanta, Marie Thérèse,·the Archduchess of Austria. The future Queen had arrived in the town a month earlier, staying in what is now known as the House of the Infanta. "There are no more Pyrenees", declared the Sun King at the end of the ceremony, held in the church of St John the Baptist, that sealed the union of France and Spain, thus bringing an end to the 30-year war between the two countries.

On 6 June 1660, King Louis XIV of France and King Philip IV of Spain met in person on Pheasant Island, between Hendaye and Irun, to ratify the Treaty of the Pyrenees, which had been fiercely negotiated and signed on 7 November 1659. Almost 400 years later, it is possible to visit all these places full of history.

Duration of experience: 2 hours

For more information,
click on the following links:

- Basque Country Guide - Visiting periods

Pau and Lourdes, the destiny of the Pyrenees

Before Biarritz, the aristocracy of old Europe flocked to Pau, which was renowned for its invigorating climate, its golf course, the oldest on the continent, and its hunting. You can discover Pau during a day-long trip and follow in the footsteps of good King Henry IV, whose birthplace chateau still dominates the old town. It was from here that the pioneer Henry Russell set out to conquer the Pyrenean summits, which can also be admired from the terrace of a café on the Boulevard des Pyrénées. 

Just a 45-minute drive away is Lourdes, world-renowned for the Marian apparitions, a town that attracts pilgrims and fascinates visitors wishing to immerse themselves in the compelling mystery of the Virgin Mary's appearances in 1858 and the miracles that followed.

Duration of experience: half a day

For more information,
click on the following links:

- Lourdes Tourism - Shrine Cities

Bordeaux and its nectars of the gods

Bordeaux offers one of the most beautiful architectural ensembles that the 18th century has bequeathed us. Magnificently restored and developed, the city of Montesquieu is a Must excursion from Biarritz. The Cité Mondiale du Vin, the opera district, the charm of the squares lined with restaurants near the stock exchange, the Chartrons... 

One day is not enough to enjoy these treasures. Even less so when you want to discover the surrounding vineyards. A special mention for the Pape Clément, Smith-Haut-Lafitte and Ferrand chateaux and their fascinating wine-tasting tours.

Duration of experience: one day

For more information,
click on the following links:

- Bordeaux wines
- Vineyard itineraries

In the footsteps of Chanel and Stravinsky

The Russian quarter of Biarritz extends around the Orthodox church. Almost 150 years of shared passion and history have left traces to be discovered, notably with the help of books by Alexandre de la Cerda. The Les Rochers villa in Rue de la Frégate was home to Stravinsky from 1921 to 1924. Protected by Coco Chanel, the composer in exile completed Petrouchka, Noces and his opera Mavra there.

Sometimes he went to relax in the famous Villa Belza, which at the time housed a Russian cabaret and restaurant. There he met Picasso, Cendrars, Cocteau, Rubinstein and Coco Chanel, of course. For dessert, he would sometimes eat Russe, a cake originating from the region.

Duration of experience: 2 hours

For more information,
click on the following links:

- Baskulture Stravinsky - Coco Chanel in Biarritz

Make your own cognac

Cognac is a 3.5 hour drive from Biarritz, and the trip is well worth the detour. Official supplier to the court of the Tsars, Maison Camus offers an imperial Master Blender workshop. An opportunity to discover all the secrets of blending. Guided by a cellar master, you will be able to discover the subtleties of various eaux de vie, from the Borderies to the Grande Champagne, before making a cognac to your taste. 

Its composition will be forever recorded in the ledger, for future orders by the person who created it. At the end of the workshop you can take your creation home in a personalised bottle. Your cognac can then be delivered to the address of your choice.

Duration of experience: one day

For more information,
click on the following links:

- Camus Atelier Master Blender - History of the House of Camus

Cooking with Michel Guérard

Les Prés d'Eugénie, a 1hr40 drive from Biarritz, is home to a cooking school that is renowned throughout the world. Michel Guérard and his brigade, awarded 3 Michelin stars, pass on their skills to gourmets of all ages. Workshops are organised to introduce children up to the age of 15 to the art of pastry making. From a 1.5 hour course dedicated to a particular product, to a four-day or half-day course (4 hours), several options enable you to perfect your cordon bleu talents.

Foie gras, chocolate, oenology and recipes from the last G7 summit in Biarritz are all explained and deciphered. Everyone gets to roll up their sleeves and participate in preparing Michelin-star country and slimming cuisine.

Duration of experience: half a day

For more information,
click on the following links:

- Michel Guérard's Cooking School

- Michel Guérard Biography

The cheese route

A great cheese should be tasted like a great wine. Look, touch, smell... all the senses are awakened. Biarritz is just a stone's throw from the Ossau-Iraty cheese route. Taking this route is an opportunity to discover the King of Pyrenean cheeses and the valleys where theses grand cru cheeses are produced and matured with passion. A one-day outing peppered with tasting stopovers.

Two experienced guides organise unforgettable days out to meet the shepherds and producers of these cheeses that are the envy of the whole world and to learn all their secrets.

Duration of experience: one day

For more information,
click on the following links:

- Discovery of the Ossau Valley - The Pyrenean cheese makers

Le Temps d'Aimer is truly the time to love dance

Biarritz has always been a key venue·for dance. From the Marquis de Cuevas ballet to the stars of the Paris Opera, the best dancers in the world have performed in and come back to the town throughout the year for triumphant events. 

For the past 31 years, the Le Temps d'Aimer festival has been held at the end of each summer for a fortnight in September, providing an opportunity to discover and appreciate the best in choreographic art at the Gare du Midi and on the Grande Plage. Ballet Biarritz, housed at the National Choreographic Centre, directed by Thierry Malandain, is one of the most prolific and talented companies in Europe.

Duration of experience: 2 hours

For more information,
click on the following links:

- The Biarritz Ballet
- The Malandain Ballet

Bike rides

Around Biarritz lies a real paradise for lovers of cycling. Cyclists yearning for an uphill challenge can set out to conquer the mythical passes of the Pyrenees, following in the tracks of Tour de France legends. While those who consider themselves to be more of a 'rouleur' can head for the undulating valleys and plains, along the departmental roads, to discover parts of the Vélodyssée and Scandibérique cycle routes.

Electric bikes, mountain bikes and gravel bikes are also part of the fun, in the mountains or under the fabulous canopy of the Les Landes forest.

Duration of experience: half a day

For more information,
click on the following links:

- Basque Country by bike 

Helicopter trip

Imagine that your private helicopter is just 5 minutes away from LA FOLIE BOULART. First flights, initiation to piloting, panoramic flights to enjoy a bird's eye view over the wonders of the Basque Country, from Saint-Jean-de-Luz Bay to the Basque mountains. If you want to play golf, the helicopter will take you to the best greens in the Landes and Basque Country.

Wine lovers, head for the vineyards of Bordeaux or Cognac! At a speed of 250km/h, you can safely land at the foot of Château Pavie or Cheval Blanc. If you're in the mood for gastronomy, you'll be at the Ostapé Inn in Bidarray in just a few minutes. It's simply magical.

Duration of experience: half a day

For more information,
click on the following links:

- Tourist flights - Aboutus

Guggenheim Museum of Modern Art - Bilbao

Since 1997, Bilbao has been celebrating the opening of the Guggenheim Museum. Architect Frank Gehry built a building with fluid lines on the former industrial wasteland of the Basque metropolis, housing breathtaking collections. The titanium walls capture and magnify the city's unique light. From Richard Serra's The Matter of Time to paintings and sculptures by Robert Motherwell, Andy Warhol, Julian Schnabel, Georg Baselitz and other great names in contemporary art, the museum attracts crowds that are constantly being enlightened by temporary exhibitions. Only two hours from Biarritz, a private visit to the museum is possible for guests of LA FOLIE BOULART.

Huntsmen and  hunt masters

An hour from Biarritz, the art of English-style fox hunting is still practised today. We owe this tradition to the officers of Wellington's army, who in 1814, after the battle of Vitoria won against the Napoleonic forces, discovered the moors of Béarn. Some of them decided to settle there, creating the "Pau Hunt" association. Until 1939, Pau became the winter capital of British riders.

True to its origins, the Pau Hunt staff still practises drag hunting. This equestrian sport without a quarry consists of foxhounds following an artificial track traced out·by dragging an object to lay a scent. Embankments, ditches, road crossings... Natural obstacles follow one another at an accelerated pace for two hours. A total communion between horse and rider. Indeed, "if in traditional French hunting parlance, one rides a horse to hunt, the Pau Hunt Club hunts to ride a horse", as a former Master likes to recall.

Duration of experience: half a day

For more information,
click on the following links:

- On hunting with hounds

Deep sea fishing off the Gouf de Capbreton

The deep waters off the coast of Biarritz are reputed to be one of the best areas for deep sea fishing in the Atlantic. The Gouf de Capbreton, an abyssal underwater canyon, located just a few kilometres from the Grande Plage, has always been an obligatory passage for large pelagic migrants, bluefin tuna, albacore tuna, marlin and many other species, which find an abundance of food there.

Several fast boats from Anglet or Capbreton, including the X Cat, offer game fishing excursions at sea for experienced anglers who have mastered the technique of casting. These excurions are limited to four anglers and four companions, in order to guarantee safety.

The best period starts in September and ends in mid-November. This type of recreational fishing is approached with respect for the resource. For bluefin tuna, one of the more tenacious fish, there is a no-kill policy. A quota is applied to the other species (Albacore, Skipjack, Bonito). The X Cat offers tailored services during these trips, combining action and lifestyle.

Duration of experience: 4 hours

For more information,
click on the following links:

- Fishing activity

Il y a le luxe du château, le charme de Biarritz, l’énergie de l’océan et l’art de vivre du Pays-Basque. Pour démultiplier ce plaisir, nous vous avons préparé des idées de sorties.

C’est d’ici que le surf fit la conquête des Européens

Depuis toujours, Biarritz a pour elle, les vents, les astres et la mer. L’alchimie parfaite pour produire des vagues à surfer. En 1957, le cinéaste Peter Viertel, en tournage dans la région, fait venir deux planches de Californie, désireux de taquiner ces vagues. Le sport des rois hawaïens, inconnu jusqu’alors, débarque officiellement en Europe. Le succès est immédiat.

Longtemps perçu comme un milieu hostile, l’océan devient dès lors, un fabuleux terrain de jeu et de défis. Des générations de surfeurs, célèbres ou anonymes, viennent écrire à Biarritz des partitions éphémères sur les puissants rouleaux au large de Belza ou de la Grande Plage.

Aujourd’hui, si l’on hésite entre deux spots, on finit souvent par prendre la vague à Biarritz. La Surfrider Foundation a son siège ici. Ilbarritz, sa Cité du Surf. Quant à la Côte des Basques où tout a commencé, elle est classée chaque année comme l’une des trois plus belles plages du monde.

Durée d’expérience : 2h

Un paradis du golf depuis 1888

Inauguré en mars 1888, le British Golf Club de Biarritz est l’un des premiers parcours du continent. Dès le début, le roi Edouard VII, le prince de Galles, la reine et le roi d’Espagne, Alphonse XIII, le grand-duc Alexandre Michailovitch, se succèdent sur ces links princiers. Les cadets biarrots apprennent et vont ensuite briller, tel Arnaud Massy, qui remporte le British Open en 1907.

En 1912, le parcours du Phare devient le premier golf public de France. Il est modernisé et remanié en 1920 par l’architecte H.S Colt, créateur également du golf de Chantaco, cher à la famille Lacoste.

Désormais, du Pays-basque aux Landes, la région possède quelques-uns des plus beaux golfs du monde, dont le redoutable parcours de Seignosse.

On peut également golfer à Arcangues, Anglet où Ilbarritz, à un jet de balle du Phare.

En savoir plus :

Clubs de Golf Pays-Basque 

Histoire du Golf du Pays Basque 

Sur les traces d’Eugénie de Montijo

Biarritz n’était encore qu’un modeste refuge de pêcheurs, entouré de falaises et de dunes sauvages, quand Eugénie de Montijo, comtesse de Teba, tomba sous son charme en 1834. Devenue impératrice des Français, elle y entraîne son époux Napoléon III, qui lui fait construire un palais en 1854- 1855. Les têtes couronnées et fortunes d’Europe accoururent dès lors dans la première station balnéaire chic de l’histoire.

Le Musée historique de Biarritz permet de découvrir toutes les facettes de ce personnage et ses lieux préférés, de la Côte des Basques, où elle se baignait dans l’océan, à la Chapelle Impériale. Reconstruit en 1903 suite à un incendie, l’Hôtel du Palais est le terminus de ce délicieux pèlerinage.

Durée d’expérience : 2h

Pour en savoir plus,
cliquez sur les liens suivants :

Pays Basque TourismeGEO voyages

Les Chemins de Compostelle

Depuis deux décennies, le plus ancien pèlerinage du monde chrétien, retrouve un succès qui interpelle. Marcher sur les chemins de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle nous permet de nous rapprocher de la nature, de la spiritualité et de soi-même. Les vraies dimensions du temps, de l’espace et du monde s’ouvrent à nous.

En montagne, le pèlerin goûte aux vertus de l’effort, d’Ostabat-Asme à Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port, 5 heures et 23 km de marche avec une arrivée via la porte Saint-Jacques. De Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port à Roncevaux, 7 heures et 27 km de marche l’attendent, sur un itinéraire encore plus sportif.

Durée d’expérience : demi-journée ou une journée selon le choix du chemin

Pour en savoir plus,
cliquez sur les liens suivants :

en Pays Basque
Pays Basque Tourisme

Plages du Pays-Basque

On parle beaucoup de la protection de l’environnement, mais c’est encore mieux de mettre cette dernière en pratique. Le Musée de la mer et la Cité de l’océan de Biarritz offrent des expériences immersives, afin de mieux connaître les enjeux liés à la protection des océans. Ces ateliers sont particulièrement adaptés aux enfants.

Lancé dans les années 1930, ce lieu unique au monde abrite des collections et aquariums permettant d’étudier l’écosystème du Gulf Stream, courant chaud qui passe au large du Pays basque. Fragilisé par les bouleversements climatiques, ce dernier contribue à la régulation et à la douceur du climat local.

Durée d’expérience : 2h

Pour en savoir plus,
cliquez sur les liens suivants :

Biarritz TourismeCité de l’océan

Le musée Cristóbal Balenciaga

A quelques pas de Biarritz, le Pays basque espagnol offre de jolies pépites à découvrir. Getaria abrite les collections du musée Cristóbal Balenciaga. Disparu en 1972, ce dernier fut l’un des créateurs de mode les plus inspirants du XXème siècle, âge d’or de la haute couture.

Situé dans sa ville natale, ce lieu sublime regroupe et préserve les collections du maestro en les rendant plus accessibles et plus ouvertes. Elles sont complétées par des expositions temporaires comme celle dédiée récemment à Azzedine Alaïa, créateur franco-tunisien disparu en 2017.

Durée d’expérience : demi-journée

Pour en savoir plus,
cliquez sur les liens suivants :

Musée de Cristobal Balenciaga

Biographie
de Cristobal Balenciaga

Visite d'Espelette avec le chef le jour du marché!

Depuis le XVIIème siècle, chaque mercredi matin, tout le Pays basque se retrouve au marché d’Espelette. C’est l’occasion de faire ses emplettes avec le chef de la Folie Boulart, entre les étals de piment, pâtés, terrines, foie gras, charcuteries, fromages de brebis ou de chèvre, fruits et primeurs de saison.

L’axoa de veau, spécialité locale, se déguste alors aux terrasses des restaurants des alentours, accompagnée d’un bon vin d’Irouléguy. En juillet et août, un marché des producteurs se tient chaque samedi matin également place du Jeu de Paume.

Durée d’expérience : 3h

Pour en savoir plus,
cliquez sur les liens suivants :

Espelette Pays Basque
Les marchés du Pays Basque

Saint-Jean-de-Luz, cité royale

Saint-Jean-de-Luz, cité corsaire, est marquée du sceau royal le 9 juin 1660, jour solennel des noces de Louis XIV et Marie Thérèse d’Autriche. Cette dernière est arrivée un mois plus tôt et installée dans la désormais célèbre Maison de l’Infante. “Il n’y a plus de Pyrénées” déclare le roi Soleil à l’issue de la cérémonie dans l’église Saint-Jean-Baptiste, qui scelle l’union de deux pays en guerre depuis 30 ans.

Le 6 juin, le traité des Pyrénées a été paraphé sur l’île aux Faisans, toujours visible entre Hendaye et Irun. Près de 400 ans plus tard, il est possible de visiter tous ces lieux chargés d’histoire et bien préservés.

Durée d’expérience : 2h

Pour en savoir plus,
cliquez sur les liens suivants :

Guide du Pays BasquePériodes de visites

Pau et Lourdes, le destin des Pyrénées

Avant Biarritz, l’aristocratie de la vieille Europe accourait à Pau, réputée pour son climat vivifiant, son golf, le plus an- cien du continent et ses chasses. On peut la découvrir le temps d’une journée, sur les traces du bon roi Henri IV, dont le château natal domine toujours la vieille ville. C’est de là qu’Henry Russel s’élança à la conquête des sommets que l’on peut également admirer depuis la terrasse d’un café du boulevard des Pyrénées.

A 45 minutes de route, Lourdes, centre marial de renom- mée mondiale, attire les pèlerins et fascine les visiteurs dé- sireux de plonger dans le mystère des apparitions de 1858 et des miracles qui ont suivi.

Durée d’expérience : demi-journée

Pour en savoir plus,
cliquez sur les liens suivants :

Lourdes TourismeVilles Sanctuaires

Bordeaux et ses nectars

Bordeaux offre l’un des plus beau ensemble architectural que nous a légué le XVIIIème siècle. Magnifiquement restaurée et aménagée, la cité de Montesquieu est une ex- cursion incontournable depuis Biarritz. La Cité Mondiale du Vin, le quartier de l’opéra, le charme des places bordées de restaurants près de la bourse, les Chartrons…

Une journée n’est pas suffisante pour profiter de ces trésors. Encore moins quand on ambitionne de découvrir le vi- gnoble aux alentours. Une mention pour les châteaux Pape Clément, Smith-Haut-Lafitte, de Ferrand et leurs circuits de visite.

Durée d’expérience : une journée

Pour en savoir plus,
cliquez sur les liens suivants :

Vins de Bordeaux
Itinéraires vignobles

Sur les traces de Chanel et de Stravinsky

Le quartier russe de Biarritz s’étend autour de l’église orthodoxe. 150 ans de passion et d’histoires communes ont laissé des traces à découvrir, aidé notamment des livres d’Alexandre de la Cerda. La villa Les Rochers, rue de la Frégate abrita ainsi Stravinsky, de 1921 à 1924. Protégé par Coco Chanel, le compositeur en exil y acheva Petrouchka, Noces et son opéra Mavra.

Parfois, il allait se détendre dans la fameuse villa Belza qui abritait alors un cabaret et restaurant russe. Il y croisait Picasso, Cendrars, Cocteau, Rubinstein et Coco Chanel, bien sûr. Au dessert, il arrivait que ces derniers dégustent du Russe, pâtisserie originaire de la région.

Durée d’expérience : 2h

Pour en savoir plus,
cliquez sur les liens suivants :

Baskulture StravinskyCoco Chanel à Biarritz

Composer son propre cognac

Cognac est à 3h30 de route de Biarritz. Le voyage vaut le détour. Fournisseur officiel de la cour des Tsars, la Maison Camus propose un atelier Master Blender impérial. L’occasion de découvrir tous les secrets des assemblages. Guidé par un maître de chais, on découvre les subtilités des eaux de vie, des Borderies à la Grande Champagne, avant d’élaborer un cognac à son goût.

Sa composition sera à tout jamais inscrite dans le grand livre, pour des commandes futures par la personne qui l’a créé. À l’issue de cet atelier vous pourrez emporter votre création dans une bouteille personnalisée. Votre cognac pourra ensuite être livré à l’adresse de votre choix.

Durée d’expérience : une journée

Pour en savoir plus,
cliquez sur les liens suivants :

• Camus Atelier Master Blender • Histoire de la Maison Camus

Cuisinez avec Michel Guérard

Les Prés d’Eugénie, à 1h40 de route de Biarritz, abrite une école de cuisine réputée dans le monde entier. Michel Guérard et sa brigade, triplement étoilés au Guide Michelin, y transmettent leurs tours de main aux gourmets de tous âges. Dès l’enfance, jusqu’à 15 ans, on peut s’initier aux ateliers pâtisserie. Du cours d’1h30 dédié à un produit, au stage de quatre jours en passant par la demi-journée (4 heures), plusieurs formules permettent de parfaire ses talents de cordon bleu.

Foie gras, chocolat, œnologie, recettes du dernier G7 de Biarritz, sont déclinés, décryptés. Chacun met la main à la pâte et revient enchanté, à la source de la cuisine étoilée, terrienne ou minceur.

Durée d’expérience : demi-journée

Pour en savoir plus,
cliquez sur les liens suivants :

Ecole de Cuisine de Michel Guérard

Michel Guérard Biographie

La route des fromages

Un grand fromage se déguste comme un grand vin. Regard, toucher, odorat… tous les sens sont en éveil. Biarritz n’est qu’à un jet de pierre de la route de l’Ossau-Iraty, roi des fromages pyrénéens. L’emprunter est l’occasion de découvrir les vallées où sont produits ces grands crus affinés avec passion. Une balade d’une journée ponctuée de dégustations.

Deux guides enracinés organisent des journées inou- bliables à la rencontre des bergers et producteurs de ces fromages que le monde entier nous envie, pour en connaître tous les secrets.

Durée d’expérience : une journée

Pour en savoir plus,
cliquez sur les liens suivants :

Découverte de la Vallée d’OssauLes fromagers des Pyrénées

Le Temps d’aimer la danse

Depuis toujours, Biarritz est une place incontournable de la danse. Du ballet du Marquis de Cuevas aux étoiles de l’Opéra de Paris, les meilleurs danseurs du monde se sont produits et reviennent au fil de l’année dans la ville, lors de soirées triomphales.

Depuis 31 éditions, le festival Le Temps d’aimer permet chaque fin d’été, durant quinze jours du mois de septembre, de découvrir et apprécier le meilleur de l’art chorégraphique à la Gare du Midi et jusqu’à la Grande Plage. Tandis que Ballet Biarritz, hébergé à demeure au Centre Chorégraphique National, dirigé par Thierry Malandain, est l’une des compagnies les plus prolifique et talentueuse d’Europe.

Durée d’expérience : 2h

Pour en savoir plus,
cliquez sur les liens suivants :

Le Ballet de Biarritz
Le Ballet de Malandain

Balades en vélo

Autour de Biarritz s’étend un véritable paradis pour les amoureux de la petite reine, joli nom donné au vélo. Les grimpeurs peuvent s’échapper à la conquête des cols mythiques des Pyrénées, sur les traces des légendes du Tour de France. Les rouleurs mettront le cap sur les vallées et plaines, au fil des départementales, pour découvrir des portions de la Vélodyssée et Scandibérique, le réseau de pistes cyclables.

Vélo électrique, VTT et gravel sont également à la fête, dans les montagnes et sous la fabuleuse canopée de la forêt des Landes.

Durée d’expérience : demi-journée

Pour en savoir plus,
cliquez sur les liens suivants :

Pays Basque en vélo 

Escapade en hélicoptère

Imaginez qu’à 5 minutes de la Folie Boulart, vous attend un hélicoptère privé afin de rejoindre n’importe quel aéroport ou site dans la région. Baptêmes de l’air, initiation au pilotage, notre compagnie partenaire offre des vols panoramiques au- dessus des merveilles du Pays basque, de la baie de Saint-Jean-de-Luz aux sommets pyrénéens. Envie de golf, l’hélicoptère vous transporte sur les meilleurs green landais et basques.

Amateurs de bons vins, direction les vignobles du Bordelais ou de Cognac ! A la vitesse de 250km/h vous jouant des aléas de la circulation, vous vous poserez en toute sécurité au pied de Château Pavie ou Cheval Blanc. Envie de gastronomie, vous voilà en à peine quelques minutes à l’auberge Ostapé à Bidarray. C’est tout simplement magique.

Durée d’expérience : demi-journée

Pour en savoir plus,
cliquez sur les liens suivants :

Vols touristiquesA propos

Musée des arts modernes Guggenheim - Bilbao

Depuis 1997, Bilbao fête la naissance du musée Guggenheim. L’architecte Frank Gehry a posé sur les anciennes friches industrielles de la métropole Basque un bâtiment tout en mouvement, qui abrite des collections époustouflantes. Les parois de titane captent et magnifient la lumière si particulière de la ville. De la matière du temps de Richard Serra, aux toiles et sculptures signées de Robert Motherwell, d’Andy Warhol, de Julian Schnabel, de Georg Baselitz, et d’autres grands noms de l’art contemporain attirent les foules, sans cesse mises en éveil par des expositions temporaires. Seulement à deux heures de Biarritz, il est possible de visiter le musée en privé pour les hôtes de LA FOLIE BOULART.

Huntsmen et maîtres d’équipages

A une heure de Biarritz, on pratique aujourd’hui encore, l’art de la chasse au renard à l’anglaise. On doit cette tradition aux officiers des armées de Wellington, qui en 1814, après la bataille de Vitoria, remportée contre les forces napoléoniennes, découvrent les landes du Béarn. Certains décidèrent de s’y installer, créant l’association “Pau Hunt”. Jusqu’en 1939, Pau devient la capitale d’hiver des “riders“ britanniques.

Fidèle à ses origines, l’équipage du Pau Hunt pratique toujours le “Drag“. Cette chasse à courre sans gibier, consiste à suivre une piste, tracée le matin même, par des hommes à pied. Talus, fossés, passage de route… Les obstacles naturels s’y succèdent à une allure accélérée durant deux heures. Une communion totale entre cheval et cavalier. Car « si dans la vénerie française, l’on monte à cheval pour chasser, le Pau Hunt chasse pour monter à cheval » aime rappeler un ancien Master.

Durée d’expérience : demi-journée

Pour en savoir plus,
cliquez sur les liens suivants :

Sur la chasse à courre 

Pêche au gros au large du Gouf

Les eaux profondes, au large de Biarritz sont réputées pour être l’une des meilleures zones de pêche au gros de l’Atlantique. Le Gouf de Capbreton, canyon sous-marin abyssal, situé à quelques kilomètres à peine de la Grande Plage, est depuis toujours un passage obligé pour les grands migrateurs péla- giques, thons rouges, thons germons, marlins et bien d’autres espèces, qui y trouvent de la nourriture en abondance.

Plusieurs bateaux rapides d’Anglet ou Capbreton, dont le X Cat, proposent des sorties sportives en mer, destinées aux pê- cheurs expérimentés, maîtrisant le geste du lancer. Ces sorties sont limitées à quatre pêcheurs et quatre accompagnants, pour garantir notamment la sécurité.

La meilleure période démarre en septembre et s’achève mi-no- vembre. Cette pêche est abordée avec respect de la ressource. Pour le thon rouge, l’un des poissons les plus coriaces, c’est la pratique du “no-kill“. Un quota est pratiqué sur les autres es- pèces (Germon, Listao, Bonites). Le X Cat propose des presta- tions sur mesure, durant ces sorties, mêlant action et art de vivre.

Durée d’expérience : 4h

Pour en savoir plus,
cliquez sur les liens suivants :

Activité pêche